DUTIES: Provide advice to the Vice President for Research and Economic Development on the use of University funds available for individual faculty research, with specific responsibility for policy relating to the application and grants award process.  The committee will receive and evaluate grant applications, make recommendations concerning RGC grant awards, and administer such grants and any intellectual property associated with them.

COMPOSITION: The Research Grants Committee will include three subcommittees:  Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering; Social and Behavioral Sciences; and Arts and Humanities.  Faculty from the ranks of professor or associate professor and, in special circumstances, assistant professor are appointed by the Provost/Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs to serve three-year terms.  The Provost/Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs appoints a committee chairperson from the faculty group and chairpersons for the three area sub–committees.  The committee chair and the subcommittee chairpersons will serve as a steering committee.  Provision is made for the following representation:

Area A: Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering
Arts and Sciences 4
Engineering 3
Human Environmental Sciences 1
Education 1
College of Community Health Sciences 1

Area B: Social and Behavioral Sciences
Arts and Sciences 2
Commerce and Business Administration 2
Education 2
Communication 1
Human Environmental Sciences 1
Community Health Sciences 1
Nursing 1
Social Work 1

Area C: Arts and Humanities

Arts and Sciences 5
Law 1
Communication 1
Education 1In addition, the Library will have one member.  The subcommittee appointment will vary, depending on the representative.

A Faculty Senate Representative will be included in the membership.

The following shall serve as liaisons:  The Vice President for Research and Economic Development; the Assistant Academic Vice President and Dean of the Graduate School; the Director of Sponsored Programs; a representative from the Office of University Counsel.

Reporting Channel: Vice President for Research and Economic Development


Research Grants Committee Spring 2022

Area A:  Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering (10)

Facilitator/Chair:   Laura Myers, Center for Advanced Public Safety

Arts and Sciences (4)

Greg Starr, Biology, FY22 – FY24

Brad Pierce, Chemistry, FY23 – FY25

Harold Stowell, Geological Sciences, FY22 – FY24

Wanyun (Abby) Shao, Geography, FY23 – FY25

Engineering (3)

Thang Dao, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, FY22 – FY24

Rohan Sood, Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, FY24 – FY26

Sameer Mulani, Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, FY22 – FY24

Human Environmental Sciences (1)

Libo Tan, Nutritional Biochemistry, FY23 – FY25

Education (1)

Hayley MacDonald, Kinesiology, FY24 – FY26

College of Community Health Sciences (1)

Ravi Kumar Majeti, Community Health Sciences, FY22 – FY24

Area B:  Social and Behavioral Sciences (12)

Facilitator/Chair:  Sharlene Newman, Alabama Life Research Institute

Facilitator/Chair:   David Hardy, College of Education

Arts and Sciences (2)

Sarah Steinbock-Pratt, History, FY24 – FY26

Matthew Dolliver, Psychology, FY24 – FY 26


Commerce and Business Administration (2)

Qin Wang, Statistics, FY23-FY25

Sandra Mortal, Finance, FY22 – FY24

Education (2)

Alison Hooper, Early Childhood Education, FY24 – FY26

Ryan Cook, Ed. Studies, Res Method, Counsel, FY24 – FY26

Communication (1)

Steven MacCall, Library and Information Sciences, FY23 – FY25

Human Environmental Sciences (1)

Jen Nickelson, Health Science, FY24 – FY26

Community Health Sciences (1)

Antonio Gardner, Rural Programs, FY24 – FY26

Nursing (1)

Todd Smith, Nursing, FY24 – FY26

Social Work (1)

Daphne Cain, Social Work, FY24 – FY26

Libraries (1)

Kevin Walker, University Libraries, FY22- FY24

Area C:  Arts and Humanities (8)


Facilitator/Chair:   Tricia McElroy, Assoc. Dean Arts and Sciences, English


Arts and Sciences (5)

Emily Wittman, English, FY23 – FY25

Tom Robinson, School of Music, FY23 – FY 25

Evie Malaia, Communicative Disorders, FY24 – FY26

Barbara Brickman, New College, Gender and Race Studies, FY22 – FY24

Bryan Koronkiewicz, Modern Language and Classics, FY24- FY26

Law (1)

Paul Horowitz, School of Law, FY24 – FY26

Communication (1)

Leah LeFebvre, Communication Studies, FY24-FY26

Education (1)

Latrise Johnson, Curriculum and Instruction, FY24 – FY26

Faculty Senate Representative
Patrick Kung – Associate Professor, Engineering

Liaison Members
Susan Carvalho; Dean, Graduate School
Jennifer Camp, Assist. VP and Director of Sponsored Programs
Samory Pruitt, VP for Community Affairs
Mike Spearing, Office of Counsel
Russell Mumper, VP for Research and Econ Dev.