DUTIES: The Council advises the President and Executive Vice President and Provost on matters relating to teacher education. In addition, the Council provides guidance regarding the report of the President’s Commission on Teacher Education.

COMPOSITION: The Council consists of two public school superintendents, the top certification officer for the State, a State Board of Education member, a representative from the Office for Academic Affairs, a Faulty Senate representative, five faculty and administrators from the College of Arts and Sciences, and six faculty and administrators from the College of Education. The majority of representatives from the College of Arts and Sciences and the College of Education shall be faculty.


Peter Hlebowitsh, Chairperson

Tuscaloosa City Schools Superintendent
Mike Daria

Tuscaloosa County Schools Superintendent
Keri Johnson

State Department of Education
Jayne Meyer

State Board of Education District 4
Yvette Richardson

State Board of Education District 7
Belinda McRae

Office for Academic Affairs
James Dalton

Faculty Senate Representative
Julie Bannerman,  Assistant Professor, Arts and Sciences

College of Arts and Sciences
Lisa Dorr
Raymond White
Tricia McElroy
Joseph Messina
Roger Sidje

College of Education
Nicole Swoszowski
Miguel Mantero
Kathy Wetzel
Liza Wilson
​Jonathan Wingo

College of Engineering 
Jeff Gray

College of Human Environmental Sciences
Stuart Usdan

School of Library and Information Studies
Steven Yates

College of Continuing Studies
Robert Hayes